64th Annual General Meeting

September 19, 2017

Niagara Support Services held its 64th Annual General Meeting in Niagara Falls on Tuesday, September 19, 2017 in the Grand Ballroom of the Americana Resort. A total of 112 members and guests enjoyed light refreshments while mingling and enjoying each other’s company before the meeting.


NSS Board President Brent Rolfe welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order at 7 p.m. He and CEO Andrew Lewis then presented the NSS service awards to two exceptional recipients.


A Community Service Award was presented to Alchemy Yoga & Wellness Studio for providing yoga classes at our day programs. The owner, Rachel Rogers, provides an overall sense of peacefulness and accomplishment for the individuals who participate in her class. We are grateful for her expertise in Yoga techniques, which promote a healthy mind, body and spirit.


A Community Service Award was presented to Niagara Chair-A-Van, who for the past 20 years has been a reliable service utilized by the NSS day programs. A huge thank-you was extended to Kim who manages the scheduling and dispatching, and is always able to assist in finding transportation solutions. All of the drivers are also very courteous and always greet you with a smile.


Our award recipients have truly enriched the lives of the people we are here to support, thereby championing our Vision of “a community that inspires the wellbeing of its citizens, celebrates meaningful relationships, and benefits when everyone participates in community life.


Andrew Lewis introduced Nicole Carey, Chair of the Circle of Friends, who brought greetings from their group and provided an update on the group's activities.


During the business portion of the evening the minutes of last year’s meeting were adopted, as were the President and the Chief Executive Officer’s report. Mr. Dave Teutenberg of Durward Jones Barkwell & Company presented the financial statements for 2016-17, which were approved by the members, and his firm was appointed as auditors for the fiscal year 2017-18.


Claudia Valle, Chair of the Nominating Committee, provided the Nominating Committee's report, and the following people were elected to a 3-year term on the NSS Board of Directors:

  • Maureen Connolly (returning to the NSS Board for her first term)
  • Brian Kon (new board member)
  • Ralph Sutton (for his third term)

Also currently on the Board of Directors: Todd Crawford, Michael Sproule, Judy Reid, Ray Robitaille, Brent Rolfe, Chris Russell, Lindsay Tychynski and Claudia Valle.


The membership approved the actions of the Board of Directors for the fiscal year 2016-17.


Chief Executive Officer Andrew Lewis provided some brief remarks prior to adjourning the meeting portion of the evening at 7:26 p.m., and introduced Jodi Delage, Supervisor, NTEC Employment Services, who presented information on NTEC's Path to Employment for people who have a disability and the ability and desire to work. A short video presentation was also shown highlighting some employment success stories.